Vani’s Musings

Child is the father of Man

Posted on: July 16, 2008

My colleagues and I had to attend a wedding reception last evening, and the venue was opposite a famous park in Bangalore.

 

Since we were earlier than the wedding party itself, we decided to spend time in the park. We made use of the opportunity to explore the park and went inside hoping to get some fresh air and exercise our jaded minds and work weary bodies. It was more than what we bargained for, and we enjoyed a stroll in the park, and also found that there were a couple of swings, and so had a royal time on the swing and one of my colleagues also played the roundabout.

 

It had been ages since we had had so much fun, and the whole trip unloaded us of all the stress baggage we had been carrying for the past week, what with severe pressure at work.

 

B had been a teacher before he switched jobs remembered this poem “The Rainbow” by William Wordsworth and said that the visit unleashed the child in him.

 

So here it is for memory’s sake.

 

The Rainbow

 

My heart leaps up when I behold
A Rainbow in the sky:
So was it when my life began;
So is it now I am a man;
So be it when I shall grow old,
Or let me die!
The Child is father of the man;
And I wish my days to be
Bound each to each by natural piety.

 

William Wordsworth

9 Responses to "Child is the father of Man"

Life’s irony:

We actually ‘live’ in such small moments, but we dont have time for such!
Bigger moments are definitely not the better ones, but we thrive for such!

What a pity. Nice one to count on 🙂

Parks.. Has become my fav spots now a days.
Shruthi has a very nice posts on her blog talking about parks and the people around.

Mathe hegideera?

Parks have been my favorites here in Seattle area – specially spring and fall seasons, where the weather appears pleasant but still chilly, plants and trees with new fresh leaves and fresh energy in spring and fall having beautiful colors while the leaves fall off on the ground. I just love to take a stroll on trails and greens. These days, when I take my 3 year old daughter, we enjoy swings, slides, climb the wall, soccer (not really soccer just kick the ball)… sure enough, I become a kid too and well, if no one else around, I hop on the swing as well. hehe…

Srik,

Rightly said……….. we actually “live” in these small moments and most of the other time are busy “existing”………………………..

Veena,

Parks in Bangalore are quite famous for some sidey activities too……………we get to see a lot of people who are apprehended for such “activities” 😉

Araamiddini Veena………….Neevu mathe putta Rajakumaara hegiddeera?

Ram,

I have seen pics of Cherry Blossom time and also Fall……….simply amazing….. Fall Colors yella noDi enjoy maadbeku annsathe……………one thing is we suddenly forget inhibitions of being “old” and enjoy those hidden moments of childhood on such occassions I feel. Yenantheera……………..

Parks are mandatory spaces to visit with the entry of juniors for everybody. But what irks me most is that even though there are boards displayed saying “not for kids above 12 years”, most of it is occupied by adults and get broken down very quickly.

In the urban jungle parks and play grounds are premium things!!

I wish parks had swings and slides for those above 40 too !! I mean those who weigh more than 40kg 😉
Naavenu paapa madideevi ?

Neela,
Thats childrens park!!!

Dehakke maatra vayassu sir,
nanna manassige innu 3 varusha…(budheegu ? )

Are you talking about amusement parks ? I feel there aren’t enough parks in Bangalore. Lalbagh and Cubbonpark are the only ‘parks’ that we can ‘park’ ourselves in!
Yellidhe parks ? Yelli noDidru jana, jana, jana. Jana noDi noDi sakaagi hogidhe. Bangalore is no more a garden city. Urbanization is killing our city !
Oops! yello shuru maaDi yello end maDidhakke my apologies.

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 143,122 hits

Top Clicks

  • None